Profile photo Jeroen Hagendoorn

Jeroen Hagendoorn

Associate Professor

Strategic program(s):


Jeroen Hagendoorn received his MD in 2003 from Utrecht University. He subsequently pursued a research fellowship in mechanisms of lymphatic function and metastasis at the Steele Laboratory for Tumor Biology at Harvard Medical School/Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, U.S. (Prof Rakesh Jain). He received his PhD cum laude from Utrecht University in 2006 (Prof Inne Borel Rinkes). Between 2006 and 2012 he completed Surgical Residency (UMC Utrecht, St. Antonius Hospital, and Antoni van Leeuwenhoek), receiving board certification in surgical oncology and gastro-intestinal surgery. Thereafter, he started a two-year fellowship in hepato-pancreato-biliary surgery at UMC Utrecht (prof Inne Borel Rinkes) that also included an observership at the HPB Service of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center (Dr Yuman Fong). Since 2015, he is an attending HPB surgeon at the surgical oncology dept. of UMC Utrecht Cancer Center.  Within the regional academic cancer center Utrecht "RAKU", HPB surgery is performed in a joint practice with the Antonius Hospital in Nieuwegein.

His main clinical research interest is robotic surgery of the liver and pancreas. Together with his partners in the UMCU HPB group (Inne Borel Rinkes, Quintus Molenaar, and Menno Vriens), he was the first in The Netherlands to perform robotic partial hepatectomy and robotic Whipple resections. His main laboratory research interest is mechanisms of lymphatic metastasis in colorectal cancer and the liver lymphatic system. This research line is carried out in the Laboratory for Translational Oncology (Prof Onno Kranenburg) at UMC Utrecht Cancer Center.

Research groups

Translational oncology

Research aim

To develop, test, and implement novel therapeutic and diagnostic strategies to combat cancer by integrating fundamental and clinical research.

Go to group

Recent publications

90Y-/166Ho- ‘Radiation lobectomy’ for liver tumors induces abnormal morphology and impaired drainage of peritumor lymphatics Daan Andel, Lotte van den Bent, Marnix Lam, Maarten Smits, Isaac Quintus Molenaar, Joep de Bruijne, Miangela Marie Laclé, Onno Kranenburg, Inne Borel Rinkes, Jeroen Hagendoorn
JHEP Reports, 2024, vol. 6, p.1-9
Onward Spread from Liver Metastases Is a Major Cause of Multi-Organ Metastasis in a Mouse Model of Metastatic Colon Cancer Liza A Wijler, Bastiaan J Viergever, Esther Strating, Susanne J van Schelven, Susanna Poghosyan, Nicola C Frenkel, Hedy Te Rietmole, Andre Verheem, Danielle A E Raats, Inne H M Borel Rinkes, Jeroen Hagendoorn, Onno Kranenburg
Cancers, 2024, vol. 16
Conventional versus Hepatic Arteriography and C-Arm CT-Guided Ablation of Liver Tumors (HepACAGA) Niek Wijnen, Rutger C G Bruijnen, Evert-Jan P A Vonken, Hugo W A M de Jong, Joep de Bruijne, Guus M Bol, Jeroen Hagendoorn, Martijn P W Intven, Maarten L J Smits
Cancers, 2024, vol. 16
Pre-existing subclones determine radioresistance in rectal cancer organoids Daan Andel, Bas Viergever, Niek Peters, Danielle Raats, Susanne Schenning-van Schelven, Martijn Intven, Maurice Zandvliet, Jeroen Hagendoorn, Inne Borel Rinkes, Onno Kranenburg
Cell Reports, 2024, vol. 43
Differential cytokine and chemokine expression after ablation vs. resection in colorectal cancer liver metastasis Nicola Frenkel, Susanna Poghosyan, Jan Willem van Wijnbergen, Inne Borel Rinkes, Onno Kranenburg, Jeroen Hagendoorn
Surgery Open Science, 2024, vol. 18, p.29-34
Robot-assisted versus laparoscopic pancreatoduodenectomy Anouk M.L.H. Emmen, Maurice J.W. Zwart, Igor E. Khatkov, Ugo Boggi, Bas Groot Koerkamp, Olivier R. Busch, Olivier Saint-Marc, Safi Dokmak, I. Quintus Molenaar, Mathieu D'Hondt, Marco Ramera, Tobias Keck, Giovanni Ferrari, Misha D.P. Luyer, Luca Moraldi, Benedetto Ielpo, Uwe Wittel, Francois Regis Souche, Thilo Hackert, Daan Lips, Mehmet Fatih Can, Koop Bosscha, Regis Fara, Sebastiaan Festen, Susan van Dieren, Andrea Coratti, Ignace De Hingh, Michele Mazzola, Ulrich Wellner, Celine De Meyere, Hjalmar C. van Santvoort, Béatrice Aussilhou, Abdallah Ibenkhayat, Roeland F. de Wilde, Emanuele F. Kauffmann, Pavel Tyutyunnik, Marc G. Besselink, Mohammad Abu Hilal, Alberto Manzoni, Martina Guerra, Freek Daams, Geert Kazemier, Roman Izrailov, Mikhail Efanov, Niccolò Napoli, Michael Ginesini, Marie Cappelle, Roel Haen, Wouter Derksen, Jeroen Hagendoorn,
Surgery (United States), 2024, vol. 175, p.1587-1594